Notes on 'A Fire Upon the Deep' (1992) by Vernor Vinge (b. 1944)

A Fire Upon the Deep is the first book in Vernor Vinge’s Zones of Thought series (1992-2011). Similar to the sf writers who brought space opera to the critics’ attention from the mid-1980s onwards, Vinge’s galactic tale revolves around humanity’s struggles with all-powerful machine intelligences. A Fire Upon the Deep won the Hugo Best Novel award (1993) and the SF Chronicle Novel award (1993).

First HC edition: Published by Tor (1992)
Part of the Zones of Thought series:
A Fire Upon the Deep (1992)
A Deepness in the Sky (1999)
The Children of the Sky (2011)
Collectors notes:
Less than 10 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Available works by Vernor Vinge