Notes on 'Authority' (2014) by Jeff VanderMeer (b. 1968)

Authority is the second work in Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach Trilogy (2014), published in quick succession of one another. Events take place on a fictional coastal stretch along what may be the US East Coast, in a military quarantined zone known as Area X. Tapping into contemporary eco-anxiety, VanderMeer mixes sf with horror and turns the subject of an alien invasion into an epistemological black hole, investigating institutional inertia and paranoia in the process.

First HC edition (no dustcover as issued): Published by Fourth Estate (2014)
Part of the Southern Reach Trilogy:
Annihilation (2014)
Authority (2014)
Acceptance (2014)
Collectors notes:
Less than 5 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Text block subject to yellowing.
Watch out for later prints.
Available works by Jeff VanderMeer