Notes on 'Hyperion' (1989) by Dan Simmons (b. 1948)

Hyperion is the first work in Dan Simmons’ Hyperion Cantos (1989-97) series, generally considered the most important work of postmodern space opera. Together with Bruce Sterling, Iain M. Banks and David Zindell, Simmons belongs to the generation of critically acclaimed sf writers who from the mid-1980s onwards brought space opera back on the map. With its playful, self-conscious and appropriating style, Hyperion represents a high point in literary sf. Hyperion won the Hugo Best Novel award (1990) and the Locus Best SF Novel award (1990).

First HC edition: Published by Doubleday Foundation (1989)
Part of Hyperion Cantos series:
Hyperion (1989)
Fall of Hyperion (1990)
Endymion (1996)
The Rise of Endymion (1997)
Collectors notes:
Less than 10 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Available works by Dan Simmons