Notes on 'Perdido Street Station' (2000) by China Mieville (b. 1972)

Perdido Street Station is a genre-bending masterpiece of New Weird fiction that helped establish the Steampunk sub-genre. Set in the hallucinatory city of New Crobuzon, on what may or may not be Earth, Perdido Street Station is the first work in China Mieville’s New Crobuzon series (2000-2004). It offers a multi-layered meditation on hybridity and fluidity, straddling the genres of sf, fantasy and horror in equal measure. It won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (2001) and the British Fantasy Award (2001).

First HC edition: Published by Macmillan (2000)
Part of the New Crobuzon series:
Perdido Street Station (2000)
The Scar (2002)
Iron Council (2004)
Collectors notes:
Less than 10 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Available works by China Mieville