Notes on 'The Fall of Hyperion' (1990) by Dan Simmons (b. 1948)

The Fall of Hyperion, which is the second work Dan Simmons’ Hyperion Cantos (1989-1997) series, finishes the ‘unfinished’ narrative of the first novel in the series, Hyperion (1989). The two works represent a high point in postmodern space opera and together with Bruce Sterling, Iain M. Banks and David Zindell, Simmons belongs to the generation of critically acclaimed sf writers who from the mid-1980s onwards brought space opera back on the map. The Fall of Hyperion won the BSFA Best Novel award (1991), the Locus Best SF Novel award (1991) and the SF Chronicle Novel award (1991).

First HC edition: Published by Doubleday Foundation (1990)
Part of Hyperion Cantos series:
Hyperion (1989)
Fall of Hyperion (1990)
Endymion (1996)
The Rise of Endymion (1997)
Collectors notes:
Less than 10 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Dustcover subject to yellowing
Available works by Dan Simmons