Notes on 'The Rise of Endymion' (1997) by Dan Simmons (b. 1948)

Set four years after the immediate prequel, The Rise of Endymion brings the whole of the Hyperion Cantos series (1989-1997) series to a ‘traditional’ satisfying conclusion. Together with Bruce Sterling, Iain M. Banks and David Zindell, Simmons belongs to the generation of critically acclaimed sf writers who from the mid-1980s onwards brought space opera back on the map. The Rise of Endymion won the Locus Best SF Novel award (1998) and the SF Chronicle Novel award (1998).

First HC edition: Published by Bantam Spectra (1997)
Part of Hyperion Cantos series:
Hyperion (1989)
Fall of Hyperion (1990)
Endymion (1996)
The Rise of Endymion (1997)
Collectors notes:
Less than 5 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Available works by Dan Simmons