Notes on 'The Sword of the Lictor' (1982) by Gene Wolfe (1931-2019)

Gene Wolfe is generally considered one of the greatest sf writers of all time, and with a huge online fanbase devoted to discussing his esoteric texts, it is difficult to underestimate his influence on the sf canon since 1980. His Book of the New Sun (1980-87) series – essentially a single work – is a genre-bending masterpiece of estrangement that deconstructs assumptions of narrative closure. Wolfe’s work strikes a fine balance between fantasy and science fiction, a format that underpins not only the work’s major spiritual and materialist themes, but also its method of estrangement. The third book in the series, The Sword of the Lictor (1982) won the SF Chronicle Novel award (1983), and the Locus award for Best Fantasy Novel (1982).

First HC edition: Published by Timescape Books (1982)
Collectors notes:
Less than 5 Fine copies currently available on the market.
Text block subject to yellowing.
Dustcover subject to yellowing.
Available works by Gene Wolfe